First Visit from a College Rep

First of all, to all fellow Americans who read this, HAPPY THANKSGIVING!


Tuesday we had our first visit from a college representative to my class.  He didn’t really say much that we (or at least most of us) didn’t already know, but it was interesting anyways.  He gave tips on writing essays when applying for scholarships, and tips on ways to find those scholarships.  He also talked about costs of colleges, plugged his college (Murray State University), and (as you always hear about) told us about the possible greater income over the course of a lifetime for a college grad vs. a high school grad.

This being my junior year, and my parents being who they are, I’ve been thinking a lot about college lately.  I don’t know anything about any colleges except for Ole Miss (THE University of Mississippi as my dad likes to say), as that’s the only one I’ve ever been to and most of my family went there.  Planning on visiting a few more this next year, probably over the summer, and I’ve also signed up for some mailing lists.

Another things I’ve done is talk to current college students, and grads (mostly recent) of different colleges.  This is helping me to actually learn what it really is like at these colleges, instead of just what a brochure says.  Information gleaned this way seems to be invaluable.

The costs of four years of college floored me though.  I had no idea it would be so much when I thought about it in the past, but I didn’t think it would be this much.  The plan is to take the ACT as many times as I can to get the best score possible before I go, so the money isn’t as hard to come by.  In the past I’ve proven myself good at tests, it’s just a skill I have, don’t have to know it, I just do well.  Hopefully it pays off for this too.

Any tips on choosing colleges and paying for it?  I’d like to hear about it.

~ by sp0rus on November 22, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
